Select Page


What is the CTPRA Exam process?

The Shared Assessments CTPRA examination is administered following the course lecture and consists of 150 multiple choice and true/false questions. Participants will have two hours to complete the examination. A minimum score of 70% is required to pass the examination.

What topics are covered within the CTPRA course lecture?

A full list of the topics covered within the Shared Assessments CTPRA workshop can be found within the Risk Assessor Body of Knowledge.

Does my professional experience qualify for the CTPRA designation?

Individuals interested in obtaining the Shared Assessments CTPRA certification are required to hold a minimum of five (5) years experience as an IT risk management professional. Listed below is an example of the type of experience that qualifies:

  • Third party risk management/assessment
  • Audit and/or compliance
    • Experience with determining whether organizations are executing risk controls against specific standards
  • The risk control areas assessed as part of the third party assessment process
    • Knowledge in the importance of risk controls and determining if controls are adequate.

Individuals who do not hold the prerequisite five years work experience in the above fields will qualify for the Associate CTPRA designation.

Where can I find upcoming courses?

All upcoming courses are listed on the Shared Assessments Program Certification website.

I have a group of people who want to become certified. Do you offer private trainings for organizations?

The Shared Assessments Program can accommodate private training events for organizations willing to certify 10 or more people. Please contact for more information.

What is included within the registration cost?

The CTPRA registration cost includes a hard copy of the course booklet which is mailed approximately two weeks in advance of each scheduled event date, attendance at the CTPRA workshop, and examination.

How do I maintain my certification?

In order to retain your certification, CTPRA holders must comply with the following requirements:

  • Successfully earn the required number of 20 CPE credits annually for a total of 60 CPE credits per three year certification period;
  • Remain current with payments for the $100 annual maintenance and renewal fee;
  • Successfully abide by the Shared Assessments Code of Ethics


Am I able to take only the exam and not the workshop?

In order to participate in the Shared Assessments CTPRA examination you must also participate in the CTPRA workshop lecture.

What is the certification process?

Individuals who are interested in obtaining the Shared Assessments CTPRA designation must complete the following process in order to be awarded the CTPRA designation:

  • Attend a scheduled CTPRA instructor-led workshop.
  • Successfully pass the CTPRA examination.
  • Submit the CTPRA Proof of Experience form detailing the prerequisite five (5) years experience as an IT risk management professional.

The CTPRA designation will be awarded to those who complete the three steps indicated above. Individuals who do not meet the prerequisite five years experience as an IT risk management professional will be awarded the Associate CTPRA designation.

This site uses cookies

Please note that on our website we use cookies necessary for the functioning of our website, cookies that optimize the performance. To learn more about our cookies, how we use them and their benefits, please read our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy.